Monday, October 23, 2006

What's in a Name.....

Nothing really but when I decided to give myself this absolute masculine identity I thought it wise to explain the rationale (or irrational) behind it .. I wish to make this an anonymous blog and I could have named myself anything.. from angel to sexy to cutest girl in the world….:)…so why did I choose Harry ????

Well it isn’t to prove my masculinity for sure.. that wud be absurd really.. considering I’m a girl n all that ... neither am I high on the testosterone front nor am I inclined to think like those who are…honest to gawd my being single is not cos I’m not interested in men .. I am I sooo am .. its just that they are not interested in me …( not like I’m bad looking or anything.. just that I’m most inclined to mingle only with the married men or the much much younger lot of brothers..I dunno why .. All u psychology people out there.. you're welcome to try and analyse why I would do that …)

Okie now before I digress.. (I usually do that.. another problem I have.. )… Coming back to the name issue..…I wanted a name that was me but yet not me… as in I didn’t want to keep it the obvious which if someone who even vaguely knows me would catch onto and say whoa!!!.. that’s her…wat a fool ...she’s blogging under a pseudo name that so gives her away … so I thought and thought and after many a names that I’m called .. I came up with Harry which even my closest friends wouldn’t guess was me.. except that one friend of course…the one who kept this pseudo name for me which he used on his phone cos he didn’t want his friends to know when I was calling or messaging him and stuff … why he did such shady things is another long long story and I’m not really writing a 20,000 word dissertation here so I wont get into it .. the name is so so far from anything anyone’s ever called me that it came as a surprise when he told me about it ..
It went something like this
Me: I haven’t fed in your number.. that’s cos if anyone is around when you call I can always pretend it’s a wrong number in front off others.. not having a name show up makes that explantion plausible..
He: and I’ve named you Harry on mine
Me (thinking): huh? Harry .. wat does he mean Harry .. does he mean Harry as in from the word hairy ???.. I’ve spent all this money on laser for nothing .. he thinks I’m hairyyyyy… wwwwwahhhhhh!!!!!...tears…!!!
Me (out loud; but praying he doesn’t say it has anything to do with hairy ): Ahem!! Why Harry again???
He: cos u used to call the green pedestrian lights in the UK that ..
Me (sigh of relief): of course I used tooo…!!!
(Flashback of me standin at a red light....: "come on green man come on green man … come on harry come on harry .. "... harry from hari as in green in hindi… vague na.. that’s me … at times…. Ok ok .. most times…)

So that ladies and gentlemen is the uneventful conversation where the name came from... And now I’m going to name my other friends who might or might not feature in this blog ….and again I won't give them the very obvious names that we call them by but I will nonetheless explain my reasoning for the vague names that I am christening them with…..

The boy in question will b called Goldy .. his family calls him that .. I really don’t know why .. and he won’t tell .. his explanation is he’s their golden boy .. or was that my explantion in jest .. I forget.. either way it’s a funny name for anyone.. I think I can safely call him this obvious name cos I don’t see him or his family venturing into the blogsphere.. he for sure wont ever cos sadly he is slightly literary challenged … not really but he won’t ever come close to anything so packed with only English and without hindi subtitles…
My sister I will call Coco.. cos she puts up this hard ass exterior when she’s a real scared softy on the inside…
My partner in crime ..my good friend.. I will call Garry .. it stems from her nick… she may be told of this blog in time…I find it very hard to keep things from her..sometimes its just a matter of too much information ….
Then there is Fatty and Catty who are absolutely inseparable.. I call her fatty for obvious reasons and catty is called by virtue of her habit of copying and owning everything my sis and I have or are connected with ..she’s gone to the extent of naming her male dog after my female dog and claiming it was her sister in laws choice of name ….some might say we should be flattered.. but we’re just plain annoyed by her blatant plagiarism...
Then there is jewel.. she’s a real sober soul..and a jewel of a person ..shes so named cos of the nature of her occupation .. like if she were parsi she’d probably b jewel jewelwaala…

Okei!! so that’s was my rendition of what’s in a name and all that isn’t… and a few characters in my story called life… not all r key players .. (Catty sure as hell isn’t.. ).. But they all do in their own way make or break my day....

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home